CDBG - Small Cities Housing Program

​​​​​​​​​​​The Wisconsin Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program, administered by the Wisconsin Department of Administration, Division of Energy, Housing, and Community Resources (DEHCR), provides grants to general purpose units of local government for housing programs which principally benefit low to moderate income (LMI) households. These funds are primarily used for rehabilitation of housing units, homebuyer assistance, and small neighborhood public facility projects. CDBG dollars are flexible and responsive to local needs. 

In addition to addressing LMI housing needs, CDBG can be used to leverage other programs or serve as a local match. The grant also can be used as an incentive to involve the private sector in local community development efforts or to respond to area needs. The CDBG program often serves as a catalyst for other community development projects.

​Eligible Activities

  • Rehabilitation of dwelling units.

  • Removal of architectural barriers.

  • Homeownership opportunities for renters.

  • Payment of relocation costs and benefits.

  • Demolition or removal of buildings so site can be used for LMI housing.

  • Conversion of buildings into LMI dwelling units.

  • Acquisition of real property for the construction of LMI housing with other sources of funds.

  • Site improvements for the construction of LMI housing with other sources of funds.

Housing proposals will be funded in order to upgrade the quality and expand the supply of decent, safe, and sanitary housing for LMI households. Successful programs have included residential rehabilitation (including accessibility improvements for persons with disabilities), conversion of commercial property to residential units, assistance to LMI renters to become homeowners, and small public facilities projects.


Funds are distributed between all Wisconsin counties except Dane, Milwaukee and Waukesha. The state is divided into​ seven regions to administer the program.  Homebuyers, home-owner rehabilitation and small public facility projects should contact the appropriate region for assistance.

Entitlement Communities (with populations over 50,000) receive direct assistance from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.  If you are seeking assistance and live in these areas, contact the appropriate community.

Local units of government use repaid CDBG housing loans to establish a​ local revolving loan fund (RLF)Many municipalities throughout the state have available RLF dollars. These funds are available for the same eligible activities.


General purpose units of local government (towns, villages, and cities with populations of less than 50,000, and counties other than Dane, Milwaukee and Waukesha) are eligible to apply. Wisconsin facilitates seven regions. These regions cover all non-entitlement communities to ensure resources are available statewide. Regional allocations are based on the number of LMI households, units built prior to 1950, housing affordability, and unemployment factors of the jurisdictions joining the regions. Individual local units of government applications are awarded based on the same criteria used for the regions. 

Indian tribes are not eligible because there is a special Indian Block Grant Program administered directly by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

​General Program Information

CDBG HOME Entitlement Directory

CDBG Revolving Loan Fund

CDBG Housing Region Administrators

CDBG Entitlement Communites​​

CDBG Program Quick Links

​Refer to the CDBG Resources and Trainings page for program quick links.


Information regarding the CDBG Small Cities Housing Program may be obtained by contacting the Program Manager at (608) 266-7531.​​​